How did you learn to knit?

I’m new to knitting and this forum. I’ve wanted to learn to knit since I was a little girl watching Little House on the Prairie and finally at 33, I took my first knitting lesson this past Saturday and I’m hooked! I was trying to sneak in rows at work today :heart:

I’d like to know how you learned to knit. The thing I’m most curious about is how you learned to troubleshoot, and the “tricks” like how to fix a dropped stitch and the things you just can’t learn in an hour-long class.

I’ve often wished I knew a knitter I could learn from, but I don’t know any, so I have to learn a class at a time and by reading sites like this one.

I look forward to learning here.

Hello Moonflower,

I am a brand new knitter. I have only been knitting a couple of weeks and I learned on this site. They have some great video that show you everything from casting on all the way to dropped stitches. They have advanced techniques and everything. This is an amazing site to start with.

I have already knit a scarf, baby booties and now I am working on a shawl. Good luck and dont be afraid to ask questions. Everyone here is very helpful.

Happy knitting!:knitting:

How did you learn to knit?
I’ll let ya know if I ever learn. :rofl:

Seriously, I learned by a combination of Amy’s videos here at KH, and experimenting. Don’t be afraid to try things, experiment, and just knit. Who cares if it doesn’t come out perfect the first time? You learn from it and try again.

When I first joined here I was struggling to learn and frustrated by a simple ribbed scarf. Now I just knit my own stuff without using patterns. Ok, my stuff is ugly as heck, but it’s mine :rofl:

Ya dive in and ya learn.