Hole in Prayer Shawl

[FONT=“Georgia”][SIZE=“4”][/SIZE][/FONT]

Hi, I recently had breast cancer and my Aunt and Uncle put my name into their churches prayer group. About two and half months later I received a beautiful prayer shawl, someone made for me and prayed over it for my health without even knowing me. It honestly made me ball my eyes out to know that there are still people out there that still care about their fellow man. Any ways, I wear this shawl all the time, as I was on the couch today on the computer I noticed a big hole in it. There are no loose threads to pick up, just a big hole. I have been knitting for about 5-6 years, not all my projects come out well but I try. I have a sweater I have been working on for about 5 years now, you have to cast on over 500 stitches, it is a sweater made in the round, I am a perfectionist so if I make a mistake I take it all apart. Hence the 5 years.

Anyways, the newbie that I am, I have never been good at picking up dropped stitches, my mom does not live close and even when she is here I still don’t get what she is talking about. So I thought if I could put a photo o here of the hole maybe someone could help me try and fix it. I just love this shawl and would hate to just put it away into a box and let it sit for Lord knows how long. I appreciate any help any of you could give me and would try my hardest to understand what you are saying and do what needs to be done to fix this.

Hi and welcome to the forum!
That is a lovely thought and such a kind gift to receive.
It looks like you could pick up the loose loop that is farthest to the right in the photo and then ladder up through the loose strands to its left until you get to the next anchored stitch. Connect the loop to that anchored stitch with some similar yarn or some sewing thread (3-4 sewing sts won’t be noticeable).

Use a crochet hook if you have one or some knitting needles.