Hi new user, new knitter, with some questions!

Hi all! I am very new to knitting (just started two days ago!). My 1.5 year old Son, who has amazing Great Aunts who hand make him various things, has become a little spoiled and will not use any blankets unless they are hand knitted! Lol. So, being that its winter, i now need to learn how to knit. So far i am loving it, but i am overwhelmed by how much information is on the web and am having trouble sifting through it to find my answers. Id love it if you fine folks could help me.

I’m trying to find how to do the stitch in the first photo, this is the only blanket he will use. Can anyone let me know the name of the stitch?

The second photo, is the work I’ve done that i think I’m going to unravel. I bought 5 yarn balls and one only gave me 2.5 inches. I feel this is a lot. My question, if i use a larger needle (currently using #10) will this use less yarn (my finished product id like to be 3 X 3 feet). I also feel that its too tight, id like it to breath a bit more like the blue blankie. I used just a knit stitch, since it was all i could do lol. I need something REALLY easy and for the most part the same stitch throughout.

Sorry about the novel! And thanks in advanced, i appreciate any help!

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
That’s certainly an interesting stitch in the blanket. It might be a variation on the texture stitch in which the 2 row pattern is offset by one stitch on every other repeat of the 2 row pattern:
http://newstitchaday.com/knit-texture-stitch/

What yarn are you using for the second photo? Going to a larger needle will make it lighter and as will changing to another stitch. All knit rows (like all purl rows) will give you garter stitch which is denser than some other stitch patterns.

I am using the below yarn, its the same as the one that was knitted for him.

http://www.joann.com/bernat-baby-blanket-yarn-10.5-oz/zprd_10220564a.html

Using that yarn, and #10 needle can i do this pattern?