Here comes Figaro!

I finally decided that I would join all of you who has one of these already. I do feel that I need to warn you that I am a stay at home mom who really does stay at home. I take my kids to and from school and occasionally go to the grocery store. It pretty much is a boring little life for the most part.

I thought I would start off with the 100 things about me. Sometimes I can get wordy so this is your warning…:whistle:

  1. My name is Debbie and I live in New Jersey with my husband and 3 daughters-Taylor (6), Emily (4) and Kimberly (2). I have another daughter Christi (20) who lives in California and is going to college.

  2. I was born in Eureka, CA and grew up in Arcata, CA and although I know there is really no going home (as in as soon as you leave, the place will never be the same as you remember it), I love going back there, back to the redwoods that I never really appreciated until I moved to San Diego. Palm trees are no redwood trees…

  3. I am a member of the Yurok Tribe of California. It is one of the largest tribes by membership (almost 5,000) in California but we are not a tribe with a lot of money.

  4. I am married to Edwin who is Dutch. He moved over here about 10-11 years ago to work at the flower farm I was working at. I was packing the flowers for shipment and he was the supervisor for the oriental lily picking crew.

  5. He asked me to marry him on Xmas Eve 1997 (I think) and we moved to San Diego County that following year.

  6. It is because of him that I am where I am. I never had a reason to leave Humboldt County, CA and I never really thought about it until we had the opportunity to move. It is because of him that I have seen The Netherlands (4 or 5 times, his family are all still there), Belgium and Paris, France 2 times. It is because of him that I moved 3,000 miles to a place sight unseen and I have fallen in love with it!

  7. I have 2 older brothers. Both are into the mechaniching (I think I just made that word up!) side of cars. The oldest was diagnosed with myleodysplatic syndrome last year and almost died the year before when we thought he had aplastic anemia. He just recently had a bone marrow transplant in San Francisco and has to stay there for another 2 months. My other brother works in the mill industry in Humboldt County and probably always will. He has also built him self a super pro drag car out of a 1969 GTO and is currently in the top 10 out of 38 in points for the season. I don’t want to think of the thousands he has put into that car!

  8. I recently had to put my 20 year old cat Hobbes to sleep. She was my cat in every sense of the word. I had her since she was a little tiny grey and white hissy faced kitten. She only tolerated the kids as they grew, never really cared for my husband and slept with me every single night. She could be playing with me and when I said NO she knew what it meant and stopped right away. I could leave fish, steak or tuna on the floor and she would not eat it, she only ate cat food. I miss her every single day. She is buried in our backyard.

  9. I am a cat person at heart. (duh!)

  10. I had no goals in high school and they never helped me with anything there.

  11. My mom lives up on the Yurok Reservation with her husband who is on the tribal council. They live on the side of a mountain (but not a real big one) and have no running water and no electricity. They have solar panels and a pump and they have a little family cemetary on the property. I think that when she is up there and there are no storms knocking out the local roads, that is where she is the happiest.

  12. The “man” who fathered me and my brothers, I have not talked to in some 20 years and I like it that way. He does have sketchy contact with my brothers and that is fine for them but I would be happy not ever seeing him again…

  13. And on a lighter note-my husband brings me home flowers quite a bit because he is renting his office from a online flower company. When they don’t sell all the flowers they have on hand, the employees (and Edwin who does not work for them) gets to bring home roses and mixed bunches of flowers every now and then!

I think I will stop here for now, the husband wants me in the livingroom with him and with the fire in the fireplace, it does sound nice right now!

:cheering::cheering:Welcome to Blogland!!!

  1. I am a member of the Yurok Tribe of California.

That’s really cool! Are you 100% native american?

Welcome to the bloggies! :yay:

I wish! Actually if I had less Yurok in me, I would not be in the tribe. None of my daughters are members but since they are a descendent of a tribal member, they are able to receive services like going to a indian health clinic or receiving scholarships if they qualify gradewise.

Hi Debbie,
I look forward to reading your blog and learning more about you. :hug: Your life sounds anything but boring!

My family lives in Morris County, in the far western part, not far from Warren County. It really is beautiful out there, nothing like most people think of when they think of NJ. I’ve also lived in California, but am happier back on the east coast. It is great that you love it here, as most people originally from the west coast have trouble adjusting.

I thought I should post here again, not much going on unless you count a weekend looking at furniture with 3 kids! When we bought our house, we found out that the couch we have does not fit into the doorway, something about the length and the amount of space inside the door or something. So, we are sick and tired of the old leather couch and the other chair thing we have. We went to 6 or 7 places in PA and NJ and I think we know what we will be buying. I just want it now though. And we are wanting carpet of some kind too.

Let me see if I can add more to the 100 things…

  1. I never have made a resolution, but I think this year my goals are to make socks, clogs and mittens.

  2. I really hate washing dishes and laundry (and I think I am not alone in this!)

  3. I drink way too much Coca-Cola, have for years. I can remember buying a bottle (a curvy bottle) at the local liquor store and sitting outside on the bench, drinking it down then bringing it back in for the refund and the glass was still cold. My mom says I was asking for the brown fizzy drink when I was 5! My daughters though have never had it nor do they want it yet.

  4. I never imagined I would be a mother to 4 girls!

  5. I need to start figuring out what to do when my 2 yo starts going to preschool next year, I haven’t the foggiest idea!

  6. I have been watching soap operas ever since I can remember, and they have only been CBS soaps. Although I try not to just sit there and watch, the tv tends to be on and I try to clean/knit/play with Kimberly while they are on.

  7. We are bringing my mom and stepdad out here for a week or so in the summer, my mom can’t wait to go to New York City.

  8. I am not sure if my brothers will ever make it here, the one who had the transplant, he has to get all new vaccinations and can’t travel for a while and the other brother-well his wife needs LOTS of drugs to fly.

I will post more later!