Help with this dog sweater pattern.

So I’m new to knitting and I am working on a dog sweater. This is the first clothing item I have ever knit and I am struggling with the pattern. I managed ok until I reached the leg openings and I’m not really clear on what I am supposed to be doing and I would really appreciate some help and clarification.

Here are the instructions:

Leg Openings This is the part I am confused about.

Next row: (RS). Pat across 5 sts. Cast off 6sts. Pat across 47sts (including st on needle after cast off). Cast off 6 sts. Pat to end of row. What pattern?

Note: All Leg sections are worked at the same time using separate balls of yarn for each section. What does this mean? I don’t understand how I am working with 2 balls of yarn.

Work 1 1/2" [4 cm] in pat, ending with WS row. In what pattern? - The 2-row pattern before the leg opening? If so how does that work with the holes?

Joining row: (RS). Pat across 5 sts. Cast on 6 sts. Pat across 47 sts. Cast on 6 sts. Pat to end of row. (69 sts)

Continue even in pat until work after neckband measures 6 1/2" [16.5 cm],
ending with WS row.
Place marker at each end of last row.

Back Shaping
Cast off 7-9-13 sts beg next 2 rows. (55 sts) ??
Next row: (RS). ssk. Pat to last 2 sts. K2tog. ??
Next row: Knit.
Rep last 2 rows to 37 sts.
Continue even in pat until work after neckband measures 12 1/2 [32 cm], ending with WS row.
Leave sts on a spare needle.

Back Edging This part is also really confusing to me.
(RS). With RS of work facing and circular needle, pick up and knit 37 sts along body from marker to back. K37 from spare needle dec 1 st at center. Pick up and knit 37 sts along opposite side of body to marker. (110 sts)
Do not join in rnd. Knit 8 rows (garter st). Cast off.
Sew neck and belly seam.

I would really appreciate any help you could give me.

Also - here is a picture of the sweater

I have added notes next to your questions in bold, Evie x