Help with reading pattern

Hi All,

I’m relatively new to knitting (a few months) but I decided I was up for a challenge for my next project and saw a lovely free scarf pattern on LoveKnitting. https://www.loveknitting.com/frilled-city-scarf-knitting-pattern-by-kyoko-nakayoshi

Having finished the frill edge I wanted to move onto the pattern part b and c section.

For the life of me I can’t figure this out - I have 31 stitches on my needle at this point - like I’m supposed to. The first line in the pattern involves ssk and k2tog and the yarn overs only increase behind the work (left needle.) I get to the final c4b and c4f but only have five stitches left? Am I missing something obvious?:frowning: imageimage

Welcome!

Are you using a stitch to work the yarn over? For a yarn over, bring the yarn to the front between the needles and then over the right needle to the back. That’s it.

Here’s a video to help with yarn overs before or after purl sts which seem to occur in the chart.

Hi salmonmac,

Thanks for the reply. Maybe it’s because i was doing all my yarn overs in a knit knit pattern instead of in knit/purl purl/knit.
I’ll give it a go with the video this afternoon. :slight_smile:

Thanks!

The video may help. Ultimately you want to end up with an extra loop over the right needle (a new stitch).

Hi salmonmac,

I gave it another go with the correct YOs but still had the same problem, so I think I’m reading the pattern chart incorrectly :frowning:

I’ve had a good read up on knitting patterns also. Does having the bold ‘box’ on the chart mean I should purl once and then repeat c4b, c4f for the first row followed by five rows of purl once, knit for the rest of the row? Should I only start going through panel c after the 6th row?

The first row looks like this:

P1, C4B, C4F, p1, yo, k1, yo, p1, k2tog, k3, ssk, p1, yo, k1, yo, p1, C4B, C4F, p1.