Help with crown pattern

I’m new to knitting and was trying to recreate this beanie/hat.

It has a k1p1 pattern.

I’m having difficulty with the crown pattern. Can anyone please tell me the exact pattern for this crown?

To create that decrease line, you would do:
k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk
every other round

And you would start doing this when your next stitch on the left needle was a purl.

There are probably four decrease lines on the hat, although we can’t tell for sure without seeing the top.

Have you knitted the rest of the hat? If so, how many stitches do you have?

I haven’t started yet. I’m not using a chunky yarn. These are the details I found
IMG_6642.jpg

I plan to use 100 cast ons minimum but I will add more if the pattern requires it

IMG_6642.jpg

As long as you cast on a multiple of four, you will be fine. Around the 100 mark is usually good for an adult hat in worsted/DK weight yarn, maybe slightly more depending on the wearer’s head size. I would have a look on Ravelry at some free 1x1 hats in the weight of yarn you plan to use to see how many they cast on. Have a look at the head size that they fit.

Come back and ask if you need more guidance when you get to the decreases. We can tell you how to place markers for the four decrease lines if that is something you need help with.

Happy knitting!

Thank you! I plan to cast on 104 then for the decrease round 1: 19 stitches in pattern, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk, 19st, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk (*twice)

Next round k1p1

Next round 17st in pattern, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk, 17st, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk (*twice)

And so on till I reach 5st, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk, 5st, k2tog, p1, k1, p1, ssk (*twice)

I made these calculations keeping in mind that the decrease pattern should begin when I have purl on my left needle

Should this work out?

I’ll just ask @salmonmac and @Creations to check the numbers.

I’m a little tired today and can’t quite focus!