Help with circulars!

OK folks, I am stumped! I have a baby hat pattern that calls for US 8, 16" circular needle. It says to cast on 64 stitches, but I can NOT stretch it that far to be able to join. I have scootched my stitches as close to the ends as possible, but no go. What am I doing wrong?!!

I am a novice but I have read you need the correct yarn and gauge. Perhaps you are a tighter knitter?

I will have to look into this gauge business, Bluejaygirl5! :smile: Thanks!

Are you using the same weight yarn as the pattern suggests? A lighter weight yarn may not work.

That is pushing the limits of a 16" circular needle though at any rate. Personally I’d use two circulars or magic loop…magic loop is my preference. I like to use a 40" cable so I get nice loops that don’t stretch the stitches.

I will try magic loop, as I did get the recommended yarn. I only have a 36" circular in a US 13…wish I’d’ve bought the switchable cabled needles! :smile:

Interchangeable needles are really handy. I have a couple full sets and many other additions. If you need help with ML let us know.

Thanks!!:smile:

I find that I have the same issue, even with baby hats that are all ribbing. But after I get past the first couple of rows, it’s fine. Even though I use an extremely stretchy cast-on. You might try knitting a couple of rows flat, then join in the round. Use the yarn from the start to sew up the opening as you’re weaving it in.

THANKS!!

Not all cast on methods give the same amount of stretch. This is one reason you are having trouble with your knitting.