Help with a pattern

Beginner here. Can someone help with pattern instructions, please.

Both the front and back of my sweater are the same.

I’m fine with the beginning where I’m given the 1st and 2nd rows, then asked to repeat 7 times, then knit the 1st row once.

On the 18th row, the instructions read …

“Rib 8, * inc. in next st., rib 11, rep from * to last 1 st/s, rib 1 … 87”

I don’t understand (a) the instruction to “rib”. Are not “rib” stitches done over various rows? Also don’t understand (b) the last bit … “rib 1 … 87” because the number of stitches I mention are for the smallest size, yet intitally I’m asked to cast on only 81 stitches.

???

Grateful for any help. If you’re kind enough to offer assistance, please be very clear. This is my first “serious” attempt at a garment. Have had plenty of practice and felt confident that I could understand or at least work my way through a pattern but this has me stumped.

Thanks -
Peter

Okay, here goes…

Ribbing means Knit 1, purl 1, knit 1, purl 1 (sometimes it’s knit 2, purl 2, etc.) Ribbing is typically found on the bottome of sweaters – that’s the part that stretches and contracts to conform to your body.

So I’m guessing that Rows 1 and 2 have you do that ribbing stitch.

When you get the Row 18, you are to continue in the ribbing stitch as you’ve been doing for the first rows. You are going to work 8 stitches in the ribbing stitch, then you will increase one stitch. Rib 11 stitches, increase 1 stitch, rib 11 stitches, increase one stitch, rib 11 stitches, etc., until you get to the last stitch. If that stitch is a knit, you will knit it; if it’s a purl stitch, you will purl it.

You will have increased 6 stitches on this row. The reason you do this is so the body of the sweater has more room than the ribbed part that you’ll want to be more body conforming.

Hope this helps and that the directions are clear enough!

namaent gave a good answer but didn’t address this part of your query