Help understanding pattern

Hi

I am a newbie here & have just started to teach myself to knit. Thanks to this site I am progressing quite well!!

I have decided to try knitting some squares of different stitches to practice before I start a project. They will be knitted together to make a blanket if they turn out well, or dishcloths if they’re a bit wonky!!

Anyway I am having problems with the folllowing pattern for lace rib stitch. I have tried to “trust the pattern” but I am going wrong somewhere. This is exactly what the pattern says -

cast on 41 stitches

row 1: k1 yrn k3 sl1 k2tog psso k2 yrn k1 repeat to end
row 2: p

I think I understand the pattern abbreviations & how to work the stitches (again thanks to the wonderful glossary & videos here!!)

Row one the first stitch is knit 1, then I knit the following stitches and repeat whats inbetween the ** (ie not including the first k1)

My problem is that I only seem to be working 9 stitches within each ** repeat, so I have 4 stitches left at the end of the row.

What am I missing? Any advice would be appreciated!

Hi Kate, first, welcome to the world of knitting- boy, you sure picked a difficult pattern for your early attempts- I usually try to chart out any lace patterns I work on; I"m sure there must be a web site that explains the different symbols . Having said that are you doing the yarn overs (yrn} called for in your pattern? when decreasing in lace patterns you have to replace the sts you took out with Yarn overs of something similiar so you end up with the same number of sts you started with. Good luck Ellie

I’m only counting 9 stitches between the ** too. It looks like there might be an error. Where did you get the pattern from?

if you have a picture of the pattern, you could try to cast on 37 stitches and work it that way. Then see if it looks correct. Maybe the “cast on 41 stitches” is the typo…

hi Ellie