Help reading a pattern

Hello i am new to reading patterns and am knitting a childs hoodie. The pattern states the following for the back, does it mean decrease just 1 stitch and then knit until measures 19cm or does it mean decrease 1 stictch on every row at neck.

It says decrease 1 st at the neck and knit until the piece measures 19cm, decrease 1st and put part on hold

Thank you

I’m reading it as decrease 1 stitch then knit until it’s 19cm, then decrease again (could be wrong as it sounds a bit strange to me doing it like that). Is your pattern online?

1 Like

Welcome to KH! We usually ask for a link to the pattern or info so we can find it online if possible because it can really help. It could be that decreasing one when you start and another before putting stitches on hold is to give you the correct number of stitches for the rest of what you’re working on. Will the held stitches be used for the hood?

Hello thank you for replying i did reply to the notification i had via e mail not sure if you received it? I have tried to attach on here but it won’t let me saying not authorised could you please check emails?
Thank you
Sunnymit

Hello thank you for replying i did reply to the notification i had via e mail not sure if you received it? I have tried to attach on here but it won’t let me saying not authorised could you please check emails?

Hi and welcome!
You may be able to post a link now, however the pattern name and source may be enough.
Can you quote exactly the row or direction that is causing problems?

Off hand, it’s saying decrease one stitch at the neck edge and then continue knitting without decreases until the piece measures 19cm. Is this one shoulder on the back or the entire back?

Hi thank you for replying. It still wont let me attach the pattern

hope you will be able to see it
Thank you