Help Identifying a Stitch Please!

Hello! I’m quite new to knitting. I taught myself just last year. I had started a scarf for a friend and had to put my project down for a while. I had all of the pattern info saved to my phone. But at some point, my phone gave out. I had to get a new one, and lost all of my notes.

So I have a partially finished scarf and I have no idea what the stitch is that I was using! Actually, there are two different stitches.

Does anyone think they can identify the stitches from these photos? I took a front and back of each one.

Welcome to KH!
The photos 1 and 3 look like mistake rib.

I agree with salmonmac. Mistake or broken rib was the first thing I thought of seeing your photos.

That does look very similar. However, I have 29 stitches. So I don’t have sets of 4 plus 3 as that requires. Hmmm.

Do you possibly have a slip stitch at either end to even out the border?

2 posts were split to a new topic: Identify a stitch pattern?

No slip stitch in this one, for sure. It has a slot of stretch to it. Here’s another shot with it stretched out. Maybe that will help.

Sigh. I just did a test run with some different yarn and the mistake rib. It looks like exactly the same thing. I just can’t figure out how I would have done it with 29 stitches. So frustrated.

Well you might try continuing with the mistake rib with an extra edge stitch on each end. Maybe put a marker after the edge sts to remind yourself to ignore them.
I think that would be better than decreasing or increasing sts.

The stitch count is 4, but the +3 is just to make it so the rows can be written the same. For 29 stitches, you could have done k2, p2 to the end, k1. Then p2, k2 to the end, p1. Should give you the same thing. As you get going again, you’ll need to ensure you’re lining up the new stitches correctly and you might discover that it’s something like that.

Recommend putting in a lifeline where you are in case you have to rip back a couple of times to get it correct.