Help! asap!

Hi Everyone! I’ve knitted a few things so I’m not really a beginner beginner…However, these simple instructions have me stumped and frustrated! I have spent more time ripping out this front ribbed band than on the whole sweater vest! It is for a baby so it should have been completed by now. Would someone help me decipher these inane instructions? I’ve tried every way that I can think of to make it all come out right to no avail! Here goes:
Rib 2, cast off 2sts, (rib 16, cast off 2 sts) 4 times, rib 1.
Next row: Rib 2, cast on 2 sts, (rib 17, cast on 2 sts) 4 times, rib 2.
Thanks loads!
Linda

I’m guessing that your rib means k1,p1? If so, you k1,p1, k1,p1, bind off 2 st,
[(k1, p1, k1, p1 : 8times), bind off 2 st ] Do this entire sequence 4 times.
end k1, p1
This is your buttonhole row done.

Now: k1, p1, k1, p1, add 2 st over space left from the row above.
[make 17 ribs , add 2 st] 4 times.
k1,p1,k1,p1.
Buttonholes done.
Hope this helps. Don’t hesitate to ask more if you need to.
We Lindas have to stick together!

Hi! Thank you Linda! Now, the rib is K2 P2. And I have tried what you suggest, but it doesn’t come out right! Where did you get the number 8 times? I think it is 4 times?? Linda

I can’t help too much with the instructions and why it doesn’t work, but the 8 times was for the Rib 16 == Linda showed a Rib 2 and said to repeat it 8 times. The whole sequence of [Rib 16, cast off 2] is what is repeated 4 times. Hope that makes sense.

:think: Do you have a link to the pattern or just the name? Where we could look it over and see why it’s not coming out? Maybe it has the wrong st count or something…:thumbsup:

Hi, Thanks so much for your help. I bought the pattern at the local knitting store (closed on Mondays). It is the Snuggly DK/Confetti #1591. I am beginning to think that the pattern is wrong, too…I’ve redone this too many times!! And it is a simple pattern. I’ve done buttonholes before and never had a problem.