HELP! Armhole bindoff too tight-- how do I fix it?

Hi! Just discovered these forums on my favorite knitting site when I was desperately looking for somewhere I could find out how to fix my boo-boo.
Totally finished making myself my first garment, a sleeveless sweater, and slipped it over my head (before blocking) and found that one armhole is great, and the other one is waay too tight-- about an inch. I can only assume that I binded off too tight on that armhole.
First off, will blocking (which I have never done before, but think i have the concept) stretch the armhole bind-off stitch? If not, what is the best way to goabout fixing it? Try to take out the bind-off row, join in some new yarn, and bind off looser?

(If it helps, here is the pattern of the sweater I made: http://deliciousstitches.blogspot.com/2007/05/lillian-tank-top.html

Thanks in advance for help!!
Karen

Blocking may help, but if it’s acrylic it might not. You may have to pick the bind off out and do it more loosely…with a larger needle or different BO.

It’s 64% acrylic and 36% nylon.
What do you think?

[FONT=Georgia][SIZE=3][COLOR=royalblue]With that blend of yarn, I think you’re going to have to take a deep breath and start unpicking your bind off and re-do it. Blocking won’t have any effect on acrylic blend, it will just go right back to its original shape. So, it’s not the end of the world, just time consuming, but a necessary evil every now and then. Better to do it now than have a nice hand-knit sweater in your drawer that you can’t wear. You’ll be glad you did it, plus every time something like this happens, you learn a little more about knitting. Never a bad thing![/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

Thanks… guess I was figuring that would be the answer. Does that mean that there is no reason to block the sweater at all because of the blend? The pattern calls for it to be blocked (of course, it may have called for wool too, but I was too cheap)