Help/ advice needed please

Hi
I’m new to crocheting blankets and I’m hoping someone can help me please.

My blanket doesn’t sit flat it does this wave thing (see photo) what have I done wrong? I have all the same brand yarn with recommended hook size. Following the pattern but it doesn’t seem to be working out.

Is there anyway to save this or will I have to undo it/ start again? And what did I do wrong to cause this?

Thank you in advance

Welcome to the forum!
The granny square is very well done. It may be that it just needs blocking. What kind of yarn did you use, acrylic, wool, a blend of fibers?

@felicityjg
@okckwilter
@offjumpsjack
@ColoCro

2 Likes

Hello
I don’t crochet but I’ve knitted a striped jumper with several colours and all the same brand yarn and I noticed a considerable difference in how the different colours worked up, I could feel it as I knit. The dark blue for example was heavier and firmer, felt thicker, whereas the yellow was lighter, softer and more flexible and felt thinner. I have read this is the case with various yarns due to the dye.
I would think you could block this as salmonmac said.
It looks great despite the wave.

2 Likes

Hi and thank you

It is acrylic 8ply

I have never heard of blocking before either. Is it hard to do?

Not difficult at all. The thing to remember is not to touch the crocheted or knit piece with the iron. Just us steam from the iron. This video compares the results of steam blocking and “killing” the fabric.

2 Likes