Hello!

Hi folks, newbie here! I’m Eve (or Evie), 30 and living in Cornwall with 3 dogs, a bearded dragon and around 10 outdoor goldfish :smile: I used to be a very active person and a keen horse rider but an accident in 2011 means I’ve had to adapt to a more sedate lifestyle (although I still ride, just not as much), so after being taught to knit as a youngster by my nan I’ve dusted off my needles and started knitting again. Currently in the middle of making a yoga style hoodies but also open to suggestions of little quick knits to do alongside as there is only so much st st I can do in one go without getting bored! I’m also teaching myself to crochet and have just made my first granny square (and probably a lot more excited about it than I should be - simple pleasures and all that :laughing: )! Look forward to chatting to you all, Evie xx

Welcome Evie! Great to have both knitting and crochet skills which can be lovely complements to each other. I like to knit hats to break up projects with large areas of ribbing or stockinette. They can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Socks are also popular and easily portable.

Hi Evie;

I’ve recently joined as well and taught myself earlier this year to first knit and then crochet.

I love being able to do both; it took me a while to get the hang of crochet but now I can I find it so quick.

I have about 5 projects on the go at the moment and 1000’s I want to start.

Welcome Eve! There are so many things you can make! If you have lots of stash it’s fun to knit hats for charity from it. I experiment with stitches and patterns on hats, too.

That’s a good idea, you could play with colours as well I guess. I still have a load of patches to do for a bedspread, but who likes doing 100 swatches! I made a funky little cupcake keyring for my younger sister which was a lot of fun and only took a couple of hours. I’d make lots of little toys but I don’t have anyone to give them to! :slight_smile: