Hello and Help with a Decrease

Hello everyone!

I am a newbie to this amazing group and so glad to be around experienced knitters! I used to watch the videos many years ago when I first started knitting and they have been so clear and helpful. Glad to be back. :wink:

I am an intermediate beginner and I was hoping to pick your knitty brains about a neck wrap I’ve been trying to knit:

This pattern is by Staci Perry who does great videos on YT on knitting and how to knit her patterns. For this pattern, she shows how to knit the “tricky” parts - but the part that she doesn’t show and that seems to baffle many of the knitters (including myself) is the first decrease on the “petal” part of the scarf.

There is an increase to start off making the first petal, which makes a 1x1 rib, then it moves on to 4 rows of ktbl, p1 and p1, ktbl which maintains the body of the rib.

Then comes the decrease that totally throws me off. I have even written to Staci asking her to explain to me what “work in patt” meant:

DECREASE SECTION
Row 1: ssk, work in patt to last 2 sts, k2tog
Row 2: Work in patt as set
Repeat these two rows once more, 11 sts

Staci said
Row 1 was, slip, slip knit and then “work in patt” means to do *ktbl, p1" to last 2 sts and k2tog.
Row 2: p1, ktbl repeat between *s to the end - WITHOUT the SSK and K2TOG, only on rows 2 & 4
Repeat rows 1 and 2 once more, 11 sts. She also said to make sure to knit the knit stitches and purl the purl stitches.

Question: Why wouldn’t you decrease every row? When I increased in the beginning it was every row.

I have tried both ktbl or p1 from the SSK and both ways looks totally off. These 4 rows do not look like her example in the video because the ribbing looks totally off before starting the tuck flaps.