Having pinky amputated

Hi everyone, wishing you well. I’m totally not looking for sympathy : ) Well, for the past 6 years I’ve had problems with my right (dominate) hand due to a 3rd degree burn to the entire palm side of the hand and all fingers. I’ve endured lots of surgeries, skin grafts, etc., and lost 1/2 my index finger. This is why knitting was so hard to learn, but I persevered and am getting there! My pinky has always been really curled (my remaining fingers are too, but not as bad.) Well, now due to poor blood flow it is going gangrene, so this Thursday it comes off. But you know what? It should actually make knitting easier for me since the yarn won’t get caught on it. So I’m really happy about it! I’m just an advanced beginner, as they call it, but I look forward to going further. Thanks for this great forum and all your help. :hug:

I am so sorry you had to endure that. My huband hand’s were burned in accident at his job when he was working.They fitted him with pressure gloves after the burns had healed. He kept his hands moisturized and wore the pressure gloves 24 /7 taking them off only to bathe.Today his hands look like they were never burned.
Did you not get the right treatment for burns that severe? My husband was taken to Tampa general hospital because of the Burn clinic they had.

Thank you Daylily. And no, I didn’t get the proper treatment. I live in New Orleans and they do not have a burn treatment center here. I never got those gloves, hence the extreme contractures and scarring. They really need a burn unit here. But I am blessed to have my hand!

You are a brave person indeed. I’m sorry for your troubles and I’ll certainly be thinking of you on Thursday.

It’s too bad you didn’t get good hand therapy, but I’m glad you can knit. You’re likely right about it making knitting easier once it heals.

If you still have trouble, we can all brainstorm. There are so many ways to knit that something is sure to work!