Have hat with 102 stitches divided in 6 sections of 17 stitches

I knitted hat with a chevron pattern that didn’t have directions on decreasing the hat only that it says cast on 102 stitches.
Directions:
Using MC, cast on 102 sts, join to work in the round. Rnd 1-8: *k1, p1; rep from * to end of rnd.
Rnd 9-13: k to end of rnd.
Rnd 14-21: Follow Chevron Chart.
Rep Rnds 14-21: 2 more times. Cut CC, leaving a 6 inch yarn tail.
Cont with MC.
Next 20 rounds: k to the end of rnd. Bind off with gather removal method. Weave ends in. Steam block.

I’ve divided the stitches in 6 section with 17 stitches after every marker . Do I knit all the way until last 2 stitches do a k2tog? Please help I’m new to this.

1 Like

This would be (k15, k2tog) 6x. Next decrease rnd (k14, k2tog) and so on with one stitch less on the following decrease round. The easiest way to do it IMO is to place a marker after each group of 17 sts then decrease using the last two stitches before each marker. This way you only need to count stitches to be sure you’ve not made a mistake. HTH

2 Likes

Is this your pattern?

102 ÷6=17.

So you get 17 repeats of the chart. No decreases or increases needed.

1 Like

Looking at the photo of the finished hat, there are no decreases in the hat. Just bind off all stitches then run a gathering yarn through the top of the hat, pull up tightly and fasten off.

Prize to @GrumpyGramma for answering the question posted by @emidemi11.

I too prefer decreases in the crown of the hat.

1 Like

:blush: Thank you. It’s such a great honor to receive this prize. Words are inadequate to express how I feel. I’m humbled and proud. And thank you to all the little people, the grandkids who inspired me to pursue knitting. (That part’s serious.)