Gauge / Blocking Question

I’m starting to make a lace shawl (Soli Deo Gloria Beaded Lace Shawl, by ‘By the Lily Pond’, on Ravelry).

I’ve made a swatch using the pattern given and blocked it overnight. The gauge specified is “18 st x 20 rows in 10 cm x 10 cm (4 by 4 inch) square after blocking”. My swatch is 4 inches wide by only 3 inches long. Should I be stretching it more into the right dimensions when blocking it? (I’ve never tried blocking before). How should I handle it when my gauge is right in one direction, but not the other?

I’m not overly concerned about the gauge on this particular item, because I’m not worried about the overall size, but I want to learn for other projects.

Thanks.

My rule of thumb for gauge swatches is to add at least 25-30% to the number of stitches and rows they tell you to knit and knit in pattern unless told otherwise. This gives you a center area to measure without the edges getting in the way.

1 Like

That’s what I usually do, but in this case there’s an exact pattern to make a swatch. It meets the gauge in one direction, but not the other. :confused:

How stretchy is your yarn? You may need to go up a needle size and then stretch it in the direction that it’s short. When I stretch the fabric width-wise to decrease the number of stitches per inch, it will at the same time “shrink” length-wise to increase the number of rows per inch. This also works in reverse: stretching length-wise decreases rows per inch AND increases stitches per inch.

Hope this helps.

2 Likes

Stitch gauge is usually more important than row gauge. That’s because most patterns have you knit until you reach a given number of inches.

Stunning shawl! If you’ve got stitch gauge, you could try blocking the finished shawl to the given dimensions and see if that amount of stretch seems reasonable.