First time reading a pattern! Can you simplify it for me?

Alright so, I am a self taught knitter and this is my first big project (a baby car seat blanket)! My friend’s baby is due late May/early June. I hope I have enough time!

I am using size 7 US circular needles and Fantasy Dark Horse 50% acrylic and 50% nylon yarn in color 29.

I have cast on 123 stitches and I’m currently knitting the 5 rows for the boarder. From there I get confused. I’m going to watch some videos to better understand the “right side” and “wrong side”. But if someone could explain the pattern in like a step by step format, it’d be great :slight_smile:

I hope the attachment works. Thanks!

Here’s a sample photo

they’re calling row 6 at the end the wrong side, so i’m interpreting that to mean all even rows are the ‘wrong’ side (i.e., the back of the item)… but really, it will look similar on both sides because of the garter rib pattern.

so, you’ve cast on.
you’re knitting the 5 border rows (all knit stitches on both sides creates squishy garter stitch with ‘ridges’).
you’ll knit one setup row of knit3/purl3/repeat all the way across.
you’ll now start the pattern. patterns are read from the right bottom to the left top, completely backward of reading english words. but this is saying row 1 (right side/RS) is knitting all the way across. turn the work.
now it’s row 2, which is the knit3/purl3 repeat, all the way across. turn the work.
repeat rows 1 and 2 for a while.
after you finish a row 2 in the pattern, measure your work. knit, knit, knit, measure, knit some more, and some more, measure. keep knitting rows 1 and 2 until your work measures 27" from your cast-on edge. for this pattern, you always measure after knitting row 2.
once you’ve knit a ton, and your work measures 27" from cast-on, it’s time again for 5 rows of all knit stitches, to create garter stitch ‘ridges’. and then it’s time to bind off your work.