Felting

I’ve read up a little bit on it…and I think that I should be able to do it without screwing it all up (but only time will tell!). For Christmas I’m planning on making some slippers for my daughter and nieces. I’ve found this pattern that I’d like to “play” with:

http://www.knittingatknoon.com/slipperpatt.html

I’m a pretty fast learner and am alright at reading patterns…

Here are my questions:

What would be the best yarn to use for this project…like, what brand would you suggest and what price range am I looking at to make three pairs of slippers?

I’ve never used wool before, is it hard to work with?

These slippers will be for a toddler, and two young children…is there a certain yarn that would work better where the size will be smaller?

With the wool be itchy?

These are all probably very petty questions, but I know next to nothing about working with wool…care to help???

Hooray for you for learning how to felt!

I love felting – the projects usually knit up quickly and it’s so much fun to see the results come out of the washer.

As for what kind of wool to use – there is so much available and a very wide price range but you don’t have to spend a lot of money on wool that you are going to felt.

KnitPicks offers their Wool of the Andes for $1.99 a skein. Two skeins would be plenty for one pair of slippers.

Plymouth Galway sells for about $6 and one skein would be enough for a pair of slippers. It felts nicely.

Cascade 220 is about $6 to $8 depending on where you are buying it and also felts well.

You can also go fancy and use something like Malabrigo or Manos del Uraguay which will cost about $12 a skein but the Malabrigo will make a pair of slippers out of one skein and the Manos will take 2.

As for softness, the Malabrigo wins hands down.

I have never had a problem with itchiness of something after I felted it – I think the washing and the agitation help with that. Most felted wool comes out pretty smooth.