Fair Isle Style Knitting

Had so much help on this forum to finish this sweater! I’m really new to knitting, have never knitted in the round before, never chart knitted and have never done fair isle style. As this was only my second attempt at knitting a Jersey it was a real challenge, but worth it. I got this pattern from Ravelry its a Norwegian designer called Tina Haugland / Strikkezilla. Totally reccomended. Beautiful patterns!

8 Likes

Wow! You’ve done a fantastic job :blush:

1 Like

Well done. I’ve been knitting a lot longer and that puts me to shame. You can be proud of your accomplishment.

1 Like

Its not perfect if you look too close :face_with_hand_over_mouth:But I am happy with it and proud of myself for persevering.

3 Likes

Looking good!! As you have discovered, knitting in the round, and in FI, is a great way to accomplish gorgeous designs very simply! In fact, all sweaters should be done this way… even cardigans! (My opinion only) Learn steeking now before you become set in your ways!

Knitting is knitting… and much easier if there are not many purls! Doing it in the round is faster for most knitters… in fact, I feel almost all knitting was done in the round in the old days, and then cut apart to make a blanket or anything else. Flat knitting came later on.

Your instructor will give you some great tips on how to do any stitch in the round. Take any class on FairIsle knitting… you will learn sooooo much!

I must find out what steeking is! Totally agree with your comment about knitting in tje round and the lack of having to pearl! It was this along with not having to stich my garment together at the end that appealed to me the most!

I would love a knitting instructor but alas I am totally self taught (unfortunately for me) in the art of knitting. Hence I turn to this forum and you tube an awfull lot to accomplish anything.