Drops pattern, sweet seventeen

I’ve been knitting for a few years and have never come across a pattern with has caused me as many problems as this one. The pattern itself seems so convoluted. I’ve bought the matching yarn - Drops Sky - and have started the pattern top down but have run into so many problems as the pattern is so confusing, that I’ve started again from bottom up, halving the number of stitches for the body as I’m now knitting on straight needles. However, I’ve got about a third of the way up the jumper, but despite doing a sts swatch before I started , and going up a needle size, the width of the jumper is 2/3s of what it should be. I have no idea where I’ve gone wrong. The pattern told me to do the swatch on sts, but now I’m thinking I should’ve swatched in the pattern instead?
I would love to find a pattern for Sky Drops, or a similar yarn, which is knitted from the bottom up, and is preferably not a Drops pattern. Can anyone help? And any swatch advice would be appreciated!

Welcome to the forum!

Drops patterns aren’t always the easiest to figure out. They are translations and they tend to over specify a direction which can be confusing.

Did you make a large enough gauge swatch so that you could measure over the middle 4 inches avoiding the edge sts? For this gauge of 21sts/4inches you might cast on 30sts and work in stockinette.
You could measure the gauge you’re getting now in pattern rib. It looks like the gauge in pattern rib should be about 10sts/4inches. I always find rib difficult to measure for gauge because it depend on how much you stretch it.
What size needle are you using?

Sorry to hear you didn’t get on well with the pattern you chose.
Oddly I quite like drops patterns although I have never made a top down sweater.