DPN question

Hello all,
I am an aspiring new knitter(about seven months of learning) and I try to learn a new technique daily, just in case I come across a pattern with it. I have made a few projects in my journey :slight_smile:

Recently I have been fascinated with the idea of making socks and bought some size 2 and size 8 metal Boye DPNS( I know bamboo would’ve been better) I thought since I am new to knitting in the round I can use my size 8s and worsted weight yarn to practice before making the real thing.

I have been watching youtube videos about knitting in the round and I get so confused at the start. I seen some where they start the first stich of the round inside the triangle while other videos show them working the stiches on the outside of the triangle. I know that I have to get all the stitches facing inside the triangle and make sure there are no twists.

my question is this. would my knitted project be the same look? I have watched the video here and she does the inside the triangle technique that I have seen. Also lets say I work a few rnds, will I need to work the same way or reverse the project so it doesn’t seem to be coming towards my face?

Any advice will be appreciated. I can also post the videos that show my confusion. I know it may sound like a stupid question but, I do need help getting started. Thanks for reading :slight_smile:

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
The trick to knitting in the round is to join the round without twisting the sts, as you saw demonstrated in the videos. You only need to align the sts for the joining round, however. You don’t need to worry about the sts after that. You don’t usually reverse the project, if I understand what you’re asking.

by reversing I meant to say do I flip it downwards. Sometimes when I tried to knit in rnd on dpns I got my work coming over the dpns and heading upward

you might watch this and try staci’s techniques for preventing that: http://verypink.com/2011/04/13/knitting-inside-out-on-dpns/ .