Double Pointed Needles

I’m pretty new to knitting. So far I’ve only completed a few scarfs…I really would love to make hats but I’m scared to use double pointed needles…I’m not even quite sure of how they work really. Could someone explain? :cool:

Did you check out the vid on using DPNs in the Advanced Techniques section?

cam

Most come in sets of 4 and you only knit with 2 at a time, just like regular needles; the other 2 are holding your stitches. It’s tough to get started with them for the first inch so people get frustrated easily the first time using them. You can either practice with some scrap yarn, making a simple tube, or start a hat on 16" circs and then switch over to the dpns for the decrease section. It’s easier to learn on them with the work already started.

Before using dpns, try knitting a simple hat on circular needles.
It establishes a comfort zone for you, in learning to knit “in the round” as they say.
DPNs are used to knit “in the round”

I made a video on YouTube that shows how to knit in the round with double points and with circular needles.

You can do it! :thumbsup:

//youtu.be/http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ajp0QUWYkk

I would definately second this. basically you are knitting in a circle, and you are knitting 1/3 at a time. the other 2/3 are being held on the other 2 needles, you just move from 1/3 to 1/3 around the circle (that is probably one of the least helpful descriptions i have done!)
if you have not used DPNs before, it is easier to get the feel of them like SuzeeQ says by using them on somthing already started like a hat started on a circular needle. the DPNs are just realy good for when you get down to the smaller diameters.

I am a new knitter, too, and I had trouble getting used to dpns. I have found with some practice, it gets a lot easier Just don’t give up too soon!! :thumbsup: