Different yarns?

Hi,
I am new to knitting (I like to knit sweaters) and totally confused about all the different yarns. I have read that Synthetic yarns (Nylon, polyester, acrylic and rayon) can be cheap in appearance…is this true? If so what is the solution to the sweater not looking cheap?

Also I find the Standard yarn weight system confusing for instance a worsted weight yarn #4 can be 4 ply or 3 ply (just the ones I have seen there may be more different ply’s). How do you know what to use? I usually do not use the yarn the pattern requests so I have to substitute something else.

Since I am just beginning I would like to have a sweater that looks nice but does not cost a fortune in yarn.

All advice would be greatly appreciated!

You’ve discovered the problem with going by how many plies a yarn has. It used to be used more (and may still be used in some areas), but just go by yarn weight listed on the label. That’s easiest. You can also get an idea of yarn weight by looking at the gauge. It takes some time to learn that, but once you are used to reading labels it’s pretty easy.

Not all acrylics are created equal. Some of them are very nice. If you can wear wool an nice, fairly inexpensive yarn is Plymouth Encore. It’s mostly acrylic and has some wool and comes in gorgeous colors. I use it all the time and love knitting with it. You can buy online or in your LYS (local yarn store).

Here are their two worsted types, but they have everything from sock to bulky weights.
http://www.plymouthyarn.com/index.php?nav=cYarn.yarnDetail&yarnid=000055&searchcollection=000005
http://www.plymouthyarn.com/index.php?nav=cYarn.yarnDetail&yarnid=000033&searchcollection=000005

I have a pattern that calls for worsted weight cotton yarn. I have quite a bit of a nylon suede yarn (dk) that I would like to use instead. Can I knit the pattern with two strands of Dk to get an equivalent guage?