Decreasing K1 P1

I am making a hat and I need to decrease. I have knitted K1 P1 and I need to know how I should go about decreasing. I know that I need to knit or purl 2 together, but since the stiches alternate how should I do it?

HELP

Off the top of my head, I have a hard time thinking how this would go, but maybe take a look at this pattern which calls for just what you’re asking about and gives a good description of how to do it.

Thank you for the quick response! I am knitting flat and not in the round so it makes it more confusing. Plus I am a newbie

Does the pattern that I linked help, or do you need further explanation?

It is still a bit confusing. SHould I knit 2together then knit 1 and Purl 2 then purl 1 and so on…?

Also, how many sitches do I decrease in one row?

Well, I guess it depends if you’re following a pattern or not?? If not, could you let us know how many stitches you’re working with and we can help you figure it out.

I casted on 72 sitches. I tried to follow a pattern and realized after I was too far into it to that I should have k2 p2. So now that I will begin decreasing I am not sure how to do it and how many to deacrease on one row.

Even though you did a different stitch pattern than the pattern asked for, you should still do the same # of decreases as the pattern asked you to do. Is there a link to the pattern? Sorry I feel like I’m being rather vague, but my brain isn’t functioning properly today and I need to see it right in front of me. Any more info?

I got it from a book:

To shape the crown:

ROW 1: k2 tog. p2; rep to end (54 sts)
Row 2: k2 tog, p1; rep to end (36 sts)
Row 3-4: k1, p1; rep from end
Row 5: k2 tog; rep from end (18 sts)
Row 6: k2 tog; rep from to end (9 sts)

Does that help? Thank you!

These directions will work for k2p2 ribbing, but not k1p1.

Let’s see.