Creating my own pattern

My mom has been asking for a blanket with all her kids, grand and great-grand names on it. My sister wants to order one …I want to knit one! I’ve been knitting for a couple years and feel confident I can pull this off with a bit of guidance along the way. Would it work to graph this out? There will be 13 names (would be fun to have a few different letter styles maybe) and I’d like to make each of the names a different color than the body of the blanket (I’m actually not too terrible at adding a new color for a few stitches in various places of my work and then going back to the main color). I guess my question is: if I knit the body stockinette, would it work if I purled the stitches that would form the letters? I’m thinking I could graph the whole blanket so I have the names spaced out and then the letters within the name spaced out too. I’ve seen the alphabet patterns and I think that would just get confusing to me as I worked - finding my place and the spacing. Thoughts? Tips? I should add that I have never graphed a pattern before and when I find a pattern that’s graphed, I have to ‘translate’ it to row by row (P2 K27 P2 etc) and actually write out ‘row cards’ so I don’t get lost.

That sounds like a wonderful idea, very creative and do-able.
Yes, graphing it out is a good way to make sure the lettering is spaced correctly. You’ll then be sure that everyone will fit on the blanket and in the order you would like.
If you go ahead with the plan to use stockinette on the background, be sure to add deep borders all around in garter, seed stitch or some border that will lie flat. There are so many choices here. Nicky Epstein has several books of borders (Knitting on the Edge, Knitting Over the Edge and others) that might be worth looking at.
Can’t wait to see this blanket. Enjoy working it!

Hello