Couple of advice questions please and thank you

Howdy folks,

I’m in the middle of making a groovy striped scarf (pun intended, this is my first real ribbed piece) and need advice on two issues. One is kind of weird (to me), the other is pretty easy.

I bought three skeins of merino for this. My [B]first issue[/B] is that one of them apparently had a split in the yarn at some point, so it looks like someone (knitting elves?) decided to tie the ends together very closely. I figured this was no big whoop. Hells, it may even be ‘normal’ for all I know, honestly, I’m a newbie.

Anyhoos, I knit past it and now I have a little fuzzy bump on top of one of my stockinette stitches and, frankly, it’s many kinds of annoying. Now I’m trying to figure out how to get rid of this ugliness.

First I tried pushing it through to the other side, but the darned thing keeps popping back out. The way that the two ends were tied together left absolutely no slack, so I’m terrified of cutting it at all, lest I create a bigger mess.

What’s a newbie knitter to do??

[B]Second issue[/B], which is undoubtedly easier to answer: I’m doing a basic k5, p2*; p5, k2* rib. With merino, can I block this baby up when I’m done so it doesn’t curl at the edges? It’s a lovely piece, save for the sad curl.

TIA

First issue- I would frog back to the knot and spit-felt the ends together (fray the ends a bit, get them wet, put them together so they overlap a bit, and then rub them between your hands for all you’re worth!). I’m not sure what else you could do about it.

Second issue: yup, you can block it, and I would think it would get the curl out!

Hmmm. Well, unfortunately I’m like 5 rows beyond, so I’m kind of sad to hear that I should frog back. Maybe when I block it, the frays will seem less severe… Thoughts?

Also, does this random knot in the skein seem unusual? I was a little surprised to see it.

Thanks for the thinks