Convert shoulder shaping to 3 needle bind off

I want to do a 3 needle bind off
My pattern says
Shape shoulders
Cast off 10 sts at the beg of next 6 rows.
Cast off rem 43 sts

So do I just knit accross the 6 rows of bind offs without binding off and then just bind off the 43 sts when I get to them
:wall: :wall:

How about short rows? Instead of binding off, on the previous row stop and turn when you have 10 sts left, then 20, 30, etc until you’ve got all 103 stitches left. Then put on a holder until you’re ready to do the BO

sue

I have never done short rows before and would like to learn. Isn’t short rows for making a gusset? How is short rows done for shoulder shaping?

Short rows can be done for shoulder shaping as well as for increasing in the bust area, heels, and just shaping in general.

For how to do it for shoulders, reread the post where I suggested it. You would work across the back, stop a few stitches from the armhole edge, turn, work across, stop when you have the same number of stitches left on the other edge, turn, work until the same number of stitches from the previous turn (not the edge, where you turned before) and turn again. Repeat.

For a pattern that uses short row shaping, look up Calorimetry from Knitty. It’s a headband/half hat pattern that curves from the shaping.

sue

Is this the front or the back of the sweater?

Candice

Since the pattern states BO 10 sts at the beginning of the next 6 rows and ends up with 43 stitches (which would be 103 originally) I’m thinking it must be the back.

sue

I am not really understanding how you are suppose to do this, so I will have to wait until I get to that point on my sweater so I can see what it is doing. What happens to all the sts that you left and did not knit?

You can either do one last row with them and pick them all up, or leave them for the 3 needle BO.

sue