Continental Knitters -- How do you hold your yarn?

I’m curious about how you all hold the working yarn. Do you wrap it around your finger? Weave it through your fingers? Or, some combination of the two? Or something else?

I used to wrap the yarn around my index finger, but found that the yarn would sometimes get “stuck” and I’d frequently have to pull on the yarn and adjust things. So, lately, I’ve just been weaving the yarn though my fingers – under my ring finger, over the top of my middle finger and then up and over my index finger. It still seems little awkward (I don’t feel like I have as much control over the yarn), but the yarn flows smoothly and I’m getting used to it.

Before I get too used to it, however, I’d like to know if there is a better way. Plus, I’m just interested to hear about how others hold the yarn – what you do and how it works for you.

I am new to sewing but I think it works bet to combine the two. I have found it easier for me if I wrap it once around my pinkie and then weave through my fingers and wrap once around my index. I do have to readjust occasionally if the yard gets stuck in my fingers but the stitch stays as tight as I like it to be.

Sometimes I can even just wrap it two times around my index but the same re-adjusting applies though.

I wrap it around my pinkie (at the base), over the ring, under the middle, over the index. Works for me!

Try completely wraping once around your pinkie and then come uder the rest of your fingers and loop over your index. I have been trying this and I think it works the best.

I had to go find my knitting and see I couldn’t remeber… :teehee: