Confused about pattern instructions

I’m new to reading patterns, so any advice would help! :slight_smile:

I’m knitting this hat for my boyfriend with a bulky yarn and size 10 US regular needles (not circular). I’m currently doing the ribbing and having no problem, except it seems 40 stitches is not nearly enough. I may have to buy circular needles, although I want to avoid it until I can save enough money. Is it possible to knit 2 “hats” and sew them together to make one larger hat? As if there were 2 seems instead of one?

The main problem is that I don’t think I understand the pattern properly. When I did a test, the decreases become knotted and bunchy. Is there a special decrease method, or when I K2tog it’s an automatic decrease.

Sorry if that’s confusing! I did my best to explain. If you have questions or need clarification, I will gladly try to explain further.

Thanks

Also, when exactly do I start decreasing?

the pattern specifies ‘super bulky’ yarn which knits up at 6-11 stitches per inch (depending on type/brand). if you’re using ‘bulky’ that knits up at 12-15 stitches per inch (again, depending on brand) so you might need extra stitches. it might be a best to try a gauge swatch. knit a square of plain stockinette that’s 4-5" across and 4-5" tall, then measure how many stitches per inch your yarn and needles are getting you. (http://www.knittinghelp.com/video/play/gauge-basics). the gauge the pattern specifies is even less, at only 2 stitches per inch. which means the bottom of her hat is about 20" around, unstretched.