Complete novice with a question about work as stitches appear

Hi,

I do apologize for wasting anyone’s time, especially if someone has already discussed this in the forums, but I’ve just started knitting and I’m teaching myself.

Can anyone explain what “work as stitches appear” means?

For example, I’m working on this pattern:

Row 1: k3, p3
Row 2: work as stitches appear
Row 3: p1, (k3,p3 until last five stitches), k3, p2
Row 4: work as stitches appear

Does this mean that I have to:

Row 2: p3, k3
Row 4: k1, (p3,k3 until last five stitches), p3, k2

Thanks in advance!

yes thats just what it meens.

It is to work the stitches as they look on the side facing you. so if it looks like a knit stitch (a v) then you knit it and if it looks lie a purl stitch (a _) you purl it. This is some times written as ‘knit the knits and purl the purls’.

Thanks so much!

Wow! when I first started I would NEVER have figured that out. Don’t ever think a question would be a “waste of time”. Take it from another novice knitter…the knitters on here LOVE to help us! I think it’s kind of like campers. Do you ever notice that campers always seem to be so friendly and glad to help? I think knitters (and crocheters) are like that. And boy-oh-boy, do we ever give them plenty of opportunity to help!

So, while I’m at it…thanks knitters!:hug: :muah:

Um, actually I think it would be

Row 2: k3, p3
Row 4: k2, p3 (k3, p3 until last st) k1

Unless you’re knitting in the round, you are coming back the other way on your alternate rows, so you have to work backwards.

Like this:
Row 1: -------------------->
Row 2: [COLOR=“Red”]<--------------------[/COLOR]
Row 3: -------------------->
Row 4: [COLOR=“Red”]<--------------------[/COLOR]

Best to learn how to identify your sts and work that way, rather than try to interpret the rows by what you worked previously.