Complete beginner knitter, pattern help

I have just finished “shaping the raglan’s” on a pattern and now I am supposed to shape the neck and I am confused about what to do. Does the pattern mean I am to knit half a row and start knitting on another needle halfway through! ? Won’t my stitches fall off? It’s doesn’t make a lot of sense. Can someone please explain in layman / complete beginner terms? This is my first knitting project. Thanks again!

Good for you for launching into a sweater as your first project. Pattern reading gets easier as you do more of them. You’'ll often come across directions like these for the neck and shoulders on sweater.
Turn as you would at the end of a row. If you have a rubber band or a cork you could block the pointed end of the left needle so the unworked sts don’t fall off. That assumes that you have a 3rd needle of the same size to continue with.
There are 2 other possibilities. You could leave the sts on the left needle and continue with the directions using that needle. The sts that ate sitting unworked on the left needle will just stay there as you work the following rows. If you keep the sts on the needle, it may help for the first row or two to place a marker where you turned so that you don’t miss the gap and knit across onto those held sts.
If you want, you can slip the sts from the left needle to a stitch holder.