Casting on

Question: I’m new to knitting and I’ve learned one way of casting on and have noticed several other ways as well… Are different casting ons meant for certain work? Or can you use any method for casting on for any type of project?

Hi! There are different cast on methods depending on what you are hoping to have the edging look like. I have a book called “Cast On, Bind Off”, which as the name implies has different cast on methods.

Welcome!!

Good question! There are so many cast ons it can be confusing. Everyone has their favorite, too. For me, and many others, my go to is long tail. It’s fairly stretchy and looks nice with most projects.

German twisted is a good stretchy one for necks, wrists and sock tops. The knitted cast on is a good go to one and easy to learn for beginners.

There are a few specialty ones that can be used for ribbing or other things, but they aren’t used as much.

The one I would caution you to avoid is backward loop. Except in certain situations like a few stitches in the middle of a project it often doesn’t look neat and can cause other problems.

There must be as many ways of casting on as there are ways to knit, and it’s all good if you get the results you want. If you need stretchy, or not stretchy, or a fancy edge, or a plain one, there’s a cast-on for it. They’re all part of the fun of learning.

Thank You Ladies…I just completed a simple dish cloth for my first attempt at a project… my step mother let me work a bit on hers on Christmas I ran got me needles and did one on my own once home… she showed me how to cast on with a slidding knot like you’d start out for crochet, however it didn’t look correct. So I went to you tube and found a cast on but it was different but worked better for me in the end… I managed to work out the decrease stitch and a finish stitch attached to the project… I need to know if I could use any cast on for any project before I go in blind… lol because step mom is 490 miles away so I’m on my own…