Casting on more stitches to a five inch piece (back)

pattern says: shape sleeves: Cast on 34 stitches at the beginning of the next 2 rows. 120 stitches. Continue on these stitches until the knitting measures 7 in. ending with a purl row.

I have knitted 5 inches of the back of a baby sweater. On which needle do I cast on these new :?? stitches? How do I do this?

I am a newly self taught knitter. Be kind. Thanks. LMC

:smiley: We’re always kind. See my smiling face?

What I would do is Backward Loop cast on on the end of the needle holding your stitches. I’d knit across those, then the body, and then I’d cast on the rest. Yes, you will have one more row knitting on the one sleeve, but I don’t see that it’ll make much difference, and it’s really the only way I can think of to do this without having to reconnect yarn.

thank you Ingrid for your “kind” reply. However, when I clicked on Backward Loop the message/explaination came in in gobbleygoop writing…how to get it in direct English?

PS what does BBCode mean?
Do I need to have HTML on?

http://knittinghelp.com/knitting/videos/cast-on/backward-loop-co.mpg

I tried the link again, it should come up a video. If not, then you can look at this.

Html may need to be on, but that’s certainly not my area of expertise by any means.

i think I did it! I curled the yarn around my right index finger and brought the left needle through the loop at my fingernail (back of the loop) and added to the left needle! Wow. Now I guess I do the same at the start of the next row which will be on the purl side of the work. ? Yes?

This is so nice to have this help available!! I am SO VERY appreciative! Thank you from the bottom of my :heart:

Like I said I am new to knitting. Do knitters talk to crocheters too? Could show some of that work I’ve done. Or is this just for knit things? I have a cute photo of my grandbabies wearing too big for them yet sweaters that were my first endeavors after a scarf!

thanks again. : :wink: