Can someone give me some EASY tips?

Hi my name is Kelly and I’m a newbie here! I decided to take on knitting because I thought it was going to be easy and fun! I do alot of arts and crafts stuff but I can’t knit. I want to learn but I can’t get it. The stitches look so sloppy and I’ve started over a bazillion times it seems like because I’m not happy with the look. Somebody :pray: PLEASE :pray: help me! I want to knit a simple scarf for a blanket for my new cousin. It’s driving me nuts that I can’t do this. I’ve watched the videos on this web page a million times and I’m getting some of it but it doesn’t look good.
Thanks,
Kelly

Kelly, in my humble opinion, you just need to stop starting over, and keep knitting. It can be very hard at first, and it may take a few days or a few weeks to “click.” You just need to make peace with the fact that until it does, your knitting will look kind of ugly! But practice, practice, practice and you will see it start to look better and better. :smiley:

okay the first thing you need to do is stop…breathe…repeat.

then you need to stop worrying about “sloppy” stitches. Get some cheapo yarn or take whatever cheapo starting yarn you bought and begin again. work on casting on your stitches until you have that right. Then start knitting. start with the knit stitch and don’t stop that until you have it mastered. and do NOT tear the work out! There is one girl here (sorry i can’t remember who it was though i think you have told me several times) who started knitting on a skein of yarn and didn’t stop until the skein was gone. She had the world’s longest scarf but what she also had was an amazing work in progress where she could see her accomplishments of changing from icky loose sloppy stitches to nice even stitches.

it IS fun if you don’t let yourself stress out. I have said this story before and i can’t help but think it always applies when people who are new get frustrated and keep tearing their work out.