Can I have some help with this

I’m trying to make this bear
http://www.bevscountrycottage.com/buddybears.html

but will be turning it into a skeleton LOL anyway. I am still new to knitting so curiously

Leg #1:
Cast on 8 stitches
Garter stitch 16 rows
Leave tail and cut yarn

Leg #2:
Same as #1

Body:
Knit across both legs (16 stitches)
Garter stitch for 16 rows

So when you do leg#2 the leg 1 stitching is left on your needle…right? Am I understanding that correctly? I feel so stupid

Yes you are correct. Leave the stitches from leg number 1 on a spare needle or stitch holder and slide them back on when you are done with leg number 2.

Thank you!! I’m glad I was understanding it right! :slight_smile:

Don’t ever feel stupid! I swear, pattern writers are sometimes told to type out the instructions blindfolded and with the keyboard behind their backs:) .

OH MY!!! and I thaught we were the ones having a hard time… Just by trying to decipher the pattern!.. never thaught of what the writer was goin through!!! :smiley: hehehe,

Thanks everyone! Especially since I have a new question!

In this pattern (I found the actual pattern for what I was going to make the bears into)

MAKE THE MEDIUM DOLL
■ Make 2 pieces, embroider one (front). With Buttercup, cast on 4 sts for top of head. Inc at the end of every other row until you reach 14 sts. Row 11 Dec every other row,
until you reach 6 sts. Row 21 Knit across. Row 22–23 Cast on 12 sts each row. Row 24 Inc 1 st at each end. Row 25– 28 Knit. Row 29 Dec 1 st at each end. Row 30–31 Cast
off 12 sts each row. Row 32–33 Knit. Row 34, 36, 38, 40 Inc 1 st at each end. Work next 5 rows in St st. Row 46 Split into two legs. Row 47–62 Inc 1 st on outside of leg, dec
1 st on inseam. Row 63 Dec 1 st on each side. Row 64 Bind off.

I’m ready to: Row 22–23 Cast on 12 sts each row.

does this mean on row 22 cast one 12 stitches in that direction and on row 23 cast on 12 in the other way?