Cable Glove Pattern help (again)

I’m still working on a pattern that I asked about a couple of weeks ago. I’m new to glove-making, so a lot of the pattern still confuses me.

The part I’m confused about now is bolded below:

Hand—Round 1—K 4, p 1, k 3, inc. 1 st in next st, k 3, inc. 1 st in next st, k 4, p 1—20 sts on first needle; k 6, inc. 1 st in each of next 2 sts for thumb gore, k 6—16 sts on 2nd needle; k 16 sts of 3rd needle; 52 sts.

Round 2—* K 4, p 1; repeat from * 3 times, k to end of round.

Round 3—* K 4, p 1; repeat from * 3 times; k 6, inc. 1 st in next st, k 2, inc. 1 st in next st for thumb gore, k 6—18 sts on 2nd needle; k 16; 54 sts. Work 2 rounds same as round 2.

Round 6—Cable twist—K 4, p 1, * slip next 2 sts to crochet hook, hold in back of work, k next 2 sts, k 2 sts from hook, p 1; repeat from * twice; k 6, inc. 1 st in next st, k 4, inc. 1 st in next st; k to end; 56 sts. Continue pat. repeating cable twist every 6th round, increasing 1 st each side of thumb gore every 3rd round 5 times more, having 2 sts more between incs. after each successive inc. round; 30 sts on 2nd needle; 66 sts in round. Work 1 round even.

1. So, when I repeat the pattern , do I repeat Rounds 1-6 but ignore all of the original instructions where it says to increase, and only increase during Round 3? Because if I repeat the pattern and increase where it says to, I will have more than 66 sts.

2. I’m also confused as to where I should increase. What does “1 st each side of thumb gore” mean?

3. Final question: What does “having 2 sts more between incs after each successive inc. round” mean?

Again, sorry if these are obvious or dumb questions! I have only ever made scarves and hats before - nothing this complicated, so I’m still learning!

1. Yes, repeat the pattern but only increase at the thumb gusset (thumb gore) on needle 2. That’ll give you the correct stitch count.