Braided cable stitch

I am knew to this stitch and I need help knowing which stitches to knit first from the cable needle when it is in FRONT of the cable. Can anyone explain this to mea? Thanks

I am an newbie to knititing and I can actually answer this one! :cheering:

(I am working in a little swatch to practice cable knitting and the one I am working on right now is a 3-strand braid cable!)

slip 3 stitches stitches onto cable needle and hold in [I]front[/I], knit 3, knit 3 from the cable, knit 3

other turn:

knit 3, slip 3 stitches onto cable needle and hold in [I]back[/I], knit 3, knit 3 from cable needle

[I]Sorry misread the question:[/I]

[I]EDIT:[/I] [I]use the cable needle as if it were part of the needle you are knitting from… knit the stitch closest to the new needle first[/I]

[I]So, if you knit from the left needle to the right needle, knit the stitches from the right side of the cable needle first… [/I]

I hope this helps!

Yes, always knit from your regular needle before the cable needle.

It’s which st ON the cable needle to knit first, guys.
Nic, treat the cable needle like a normal knitting needle you are knitting from, and knit the one closest to the LEFT tip:

so although the 2-4 stitches (or whatever number) on the cable needle are twisted/rearranged in order in relation to the other cable stitches on the LEFT knitting needle, those 2-4 stitches are staying in order relative to each other.

So the left needle, before you cable, let’s say it is a 6-stitch cable, 3 crossed over 3. The LN has these stitches, numbered from the tip down (right to left): 1 2 3 4 5 6, with st 1 closest to the tip. When you look at your left needle before you cable, it will look like this:

___6 5 4 3 2 1> that arrow is the left needle’s tip.

You are going to end up knitting them in this order: 4, then 5, then 6, then 1, then 2, then 3 (1,2, and 3 are the ones you put onto the cable needle).

Sarah