Booga Bag

I just have a question about the Booga Bag. Before picking up the sts. I was doing the garter st.( knit one roll then purl the next roll) for the bottom of the bag. I finished picking up the sts. now I have to knit 64 rows. I just wanted to be sure I was understanding the pattern right. When I knit, do I just knit only for the 64 rolls :thinking: ? This is my first time making this bag.

Thanks for your help :smiley:

According to the pattern, you would have knit the bottom in garter st (which is knit every row). After picking up the required number of st, you will knit in the round for 64 rows. Just keep knitting around and around, no purling.

Ingrid thanks for replying :smiley:
I thought I read somewhere that when you knit garter st. on circular needles you knit and purl :thinking: I knitted flat with the circular needle for the botton. I guess I did that wrong, it should have been all knit sts :?? Thanks for telling me about the knitting and no purling to contiue for the 64 rolls :smiley:

No, you did it right. I didn’t realize the bottom was on circs. Then garter would be k one row p one row. I do a lot of circular knitting, but don’t think I’ve ever been called upon to do garter. Good luck with the bag!

I just looked at the pattern again and it did call for knitting back and forth on the circular needle. That’s where I got confused.

I hope I’m doing alright :lol: This is my first time making a bag :smiley:
Ingrid thank you! I’m still learning how to read patterns, so we will see!

Yep, and when you start knitting in the round it will not look like garter stitch because in the round, knitting every stitch gives you stockinette. Don’t worry about it though because once it is felted, you won’t see the stitches anyways.

This is my first time knitting in the round, so I got scared and thought I would ask here :smiley: I hope I get a bag and not a what is this! :roflhard:
Knitqueen thank you!