Blocking Question

I’m just getting into making garmets…now I need to learn how to block!

As I was trying to block my sweater pieces last nite on my ironing board, I got to thinking…maybe there’s an easier way. I was trying to block it out, according to the measurements, and I kept having to un-pin and re-pin it.

Does anyone have some sort of “blocking board”, with maybe a grid, or someway of making sure you are ‘square’?

Just thought some of the brilliant knitting minds I’ve seen on this forum would have some fancy–smancy ideas!

Thanks in advance!

I just purchased a blocking board at the local craft store from the quilting section. It’s basically a piece of dense cork board with batting on it and cotton fabric with a grid on it. You could probably easily make one, but I was willing to purchase this one instead of going to different stores to get all of the materials at each location.

Which method of blocking are you using? Steam? Wet? What type of fiber are you working with?

I’m using 100% wool and I was just spraying it with a water bottle, so I guess wet?

Obviously I’ve not done this before! How does steam work…iron, I assume?

Thanks for your help :muah:

You use different blocking methods with different type materials. For wool, I usually block after wetting it completely. With acrylic, I have recently heard you can pin it down and place a wet cloth over it or steam it using an iron over the cloth. (Not on the knitted piece directly)

Don’t know if that information can help? I block using an ironing board for small pieces or a sheet on carpet for larger pieces. It would be nice to have a board like Clarkee described!