bind off -v- decrease for sleeve top

Hello ~ I’m a relatively novice knitter, working on a pattern for a man’s jumper. I’ve just finishes the decreasing & binding off to shape the sleeve head. To start with, the pattern instructs to BO x sts at the beg of row (so BO worked on both P & K sides), then goes on to DECREASING x sts at beg of every row, for a number of rows, then goes back to BOing(!) for the remaining rows to the point whereby the very top of the sleeve is a pointed triangle (unlike most other sleeves I’ve seen which are curved).
Unfortunately, I’ve no doubt due to my lack of expertise, my BO edges are very ‘ragged’. I know this won’t matter when it’s made up, but (aside from the fact that I don’t like the look of it!) it is going to make picking up the stitches for the shoulder seams quite difficult. My ‘ordinary’ edges, however, are quite neat, so MY FIRST QUESTION is:
Is there any reason why I couldn’t simply have
done ALL the BO rows using decreases instead?

I’ve searched everywhere to find an explanation as to what the difference is between BingO and decreasing, and I did find this, on this site …:
“A bind off is different from a decrease; they dec several sts in one spot, and a dec just decreases 1 st in one place. If you’ve done the underarm as BO X sts and now it’s saying to dec at both ends of the row, then you would ssk at the beginning of the row and k2tog at the end.” … but it’s only telling me what I’ve just done!

I just can’t fathom how doing decreases all the way would make any difference to the end result!

My 2nd question is …:
Could anyone please advise me how to create a neat, one-stitch per row, edge to my work?

Regardless of which pattern I’m using, I currently:
slip every last stitch of every row with yarn at the back, turn work
work every first stitch of every row as a Ktbl