Bind off at the end of a row?

I just found this site, and am so glad! I am a fairly beginner knitter, and am doing some wool soakers. The pattern says to bind of 2 stitches at the beginning and end of each row. It is narrowing the leg holes to the crotch, but how do you bind off at the end? :wall: Thanks for anyones help in advance! :cheering: Steph

You can’t bind off at the end. You would have to turn and bind off at the beginning of the next, but seeing as how your pattern calls for doing the decreases in each row, not alternate rows, you would miss decreases.

Are you sure it says to use a bind off as the decrease?

“Bind off 2 stitches at the beginning of the next 8 rows, i.e. at both edges of the work” I have 46 stitches, and says at the end of the 8 rows I should have 14 left. I am stumped…It is a pattern from ottobre.com

Hmmm… well for starters the math is strange.

If it says, word for word, Bind of 2 sts at the beginning of the next 8 rows, this means only at the beginning, not at the end, so you would be losing 2 stitches per row, for 8 rows = 16 sts you lose, so there should be 30 left. Not sure how they get 14, unless you are to decrease at both ends (in which case, what is written above, can’t be what is written in the pattern, cause 1) well, for starters they wouldn’t use the term bind off, and 2) they wouldn’t say ‘beginning’), so… hang on, is this bit

i.e. at both edges of the work

your interpretation, or part of the written instructions, cause it’s contradictory, and if it’s your pattern, it’s a, let’s call it ‘funny’, pattern.

I thought it was funny too, I quoted the directions, the ie was theirs, not mine…I am so stuck. I am wondering if it would be too drastic to bind off 4 at beginning of the eight rows? The math works that way. If I really am supposed to do 2 at beginning and end I would be losing 4 each row ending with the 14.