Bernat horseshoe cable blanket

I desperately need help with this pattern, even my Mom isn’t sure how to proceed after the 4 inch rib stitch, if you go to proceed in pat as follows: the first row doesn’t have enough stitches for the row, and there is nowhere in the instructions to go to row 3 through 12 of cable panel. Very poorly written and I am a beginner.
Thanks
Jaci

Welcome to KnittingHelp and to knitting!
http://www.yarnspirations.com/patterns/horseshoe-cable-blanket.html

Sounds like you’ve finished the ribbing and the first row is the increase row, the “Next row (WS)” at the bottom of column 2? Make sure you have 106sts to begin the row. The pattern row is correct if you use the M1 recommended in the pattern (lifting the loop between sts etc). It may help to put in markers for each section of the pattern across the row. That way you can concentrate on the knitting without counting and make an increase every time you come to a marker. You can use loops of scrap yarn for markers if you don’t have any.
Next row: (WS). K2. rib 8, Marker, rib 8, Marker, rib 26, Marker, rib 8, Marker, rib 8, etc.
Drop the markers once you’ve made the increase.

This is a rather typical way of writing a pattern. Once the position of the cable panel has been established, the pattern continues as set in rows 1 and 2. For the ribbing between the cable panels, repeat row 1 on the odd number rows and repeat row 2 for the even number rows. You want to maintain the columns of knit and purl sts. This will become more obvious as you work a few rows.
If you’re on Ravelry (free to join), this project shows the blanket spread out so that you can see the pattern:
http://www.ravelry.com/projects/just4knitting/horseshoe-cable-blanket

For the cable panel, continue on with row 3 through row 12. When you get to row 13, go back to row 1 of the cable panel. It may help to keep track of which cable panel row you’re on by marking off the rows as you complete them on a piece of paper.