Beginners question about pattern instructions

Hello, I am pretty new to knitting and have just started my first jumper for my baby. The pattern tells me to cast on 38 sts. Row 1 [WS]: K each st tbl. Work 6 rows in garter stitch. Change to 5mm needles and cont in garter stitch for a further 6 rows.

My question is about the initial rows. Once I have cast on, am I then knitting 6 or 7 rows before changing needles? Your help would be appreciated!

Welcome to KnittingHelp!
It’s not so clear but I’d say, knit the first row (WS) and then knit 6 garter stitch rows (so 7 rows total), change needles and knit 6 more rows. That way you’ll end having completed a WS row and be ready to work the next row on the RS. See if that makes sense with the next directions for the sweater.
Can you give us a link to the pattern or a pattern name?

I read it the same way salmonmac does. First row, knit all stitches through the back loop. Then start counting the rows for the 6 rows of garter stitch which gives 3 ridges, change needles and do 6 more rows of garter stitch. Work each step and then move on to the next. It’s kind of like having a list:

Knit all stitches through the back loop for one row - check it off
Knit 6 rows garter stitch - check it off
Change to larger needles - check it off
Knit 6 rows garter stitch - check it off

Thank you salmonmac and GumpyGramma. The pattern is called “Striped jacket” in a book called “Cute and Easy Baby Knits” by Susie Johns. This is actually the sleeve as I thought it would be easier than starting with the body :slight_smile:

I do actually have a further question. I have to change colours after every 16 rows. It then says “At the same time, inc 1 at the end of 9th and foll 10th rows until there are 52 sts.” What does that part mean? Am I increasing one each end of every 9th and 10th row of every new colour?

Thanks so much again!