Beginner to a pattern

Hi folks,
I’m a beginner. I’m trying a blanket (James C. Brett JB447)

1st row: (yfwd, s1, k2tog, psso, yfwd, k3)

• When I do my yfwd and s1, do I put the yarn to the back to then do the k2tog?
•when it says yfwd, k3, do I have my yarn forward for every 3 of them k3 stitches?
Thank you in advance for any help. x

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, the yfwd is a yarn over. The yarn comes to the front between the needles then over the right needle to the back. You’re to bring the yarn forward, slip one then bring the yarn to the back over the right needle to k2tog.

For the yfwd, k3 bring the yarn to the front between the needles, then over the right needle to the back and k1, then knit the next two sts. The yarn over will be just before the first of the three knit sts.

Sorry to sound silly. After the slip one stitch, when you say “bring back and over right needle”
Do you mean I put the wool back to the normal knit position at the back and to do the k2tog?
Or
does yarn have to be forward (over right needle) to do the k2tog?
Thank you for your help.
I don’t want to make a mistake and rip it all out again as I don’t know how to fix the mistakes.

Thank you x

The yarn goes to the back over the right hand needle and then you work the k2tog. It’s similar to this video

You’ll always need the yarn at the back to work a knit stitch or a k2tog.
Making a mistake is all part of knitting. You can always knit a small sample swatch to use for practicing new stitches. Also, using a lifeline makes ripping back (always a chore) easier.

1 Like

Hello
Those 2 yarn forwards are really yarn overs to produce 2 new stitches, 1 either side of a double decrease, resulting in the same number of stitches but with a pretty increase decrease increase bit of lace pattern.

Bring the yarn forward BETWEEN the needles as though preparing to purl.
Slip 1 stitch purl wise.