Beginner needs help - simple garter stitch

Hi All!

I am a complete beginner at knitting and just started two days ago. I really want to continue practicing and be able to make nice cardigans, scarves, etc. I know it will take me a long time to get there but I am excited! No one I know knits so I hope I can post questions and ask for help in this forum!

I am starting with a simple garter stitch scarf. However, I am already having problems :frog: I started with a 12 stitches on each row and I wanted to continue that way till I get to a comfortable size. UNFORTUNATELY, these are the problems I am having:

1. The first 14 or so rows are good and have 12 stitches. Somehow (without realizing) the next 10 or so rows have 18 stitches. I have no idea how I got there. How to avoid this problem and how do I prevent it for the next time?

2. Some of the row have like holes in some of the stitches…Maybe I missed a stitch? Not sure how I did that either? How do I prevent this?

3. Some of the row edges are not as intact as the other? How do I make sure they are all the same?

I apologize if my questions seems silly, but please bear with me! I want to knit my husband a scarf for Christmas and want to avoid these problems I am having now. Any help will be much appreciated! I am so happy I found this forum and look forward to your responses. Thank you once again!! :thumbsup:

PS - some pictures are included of my current project. It looks pretty bad so I apologize for this. It’s my first project and I can’t wait to get better!