Beginner looking for pattern modification assistance

I am pretty much a total beginner and would like to knit this Simple Shrug.

Can someone help me do the math for the following two modifications:

I am using needles #4 instead of #5 as pattern indicates. Also I am a size 14 (Large). I assume the model is a size small since this is a vintage pattern and they tend to be 30-32 chest.

It does not have to be perfect since it is open in the front, but I just want to make sure it fits properly. BTW, the pattern does not give a gauge, it just says to cast on 358 sts. with needles #5 (work in ribbing K2, P2)

Any ideas? I truly appreciate any suggestions or comments you may have.

Thank you.

Raquel

It’s not as simple as you might imagine to make these modifications to the pattern. Essentially, you would have to rewrite the pattern and that takes a bit of experience.
My best recommendation is to join a site like Ravelry and do an advanced pattern search for a similar shrug that doesn’t need changes. In the advanced search window you can specify the type of sweater as well as the yarn weight and needle size you would like to use.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer. The reason I thought I might be able to tackle this is because it is really just a rectangle folded in half. There isn’t much to the pattern at all.
Cast on 348 sts. Work in ribbing for 4 inches. Next row k2 tog across row.
Work ribbing for another 2 inches. Cast on 18 sts at beg. of each row for sleeves. Etc.

If someone can tell me what the cast on # of stitches should be, I think I can figure out the rest.

It is the Simple Shrug pattern by American Thread Company.

Alternatively, If someone can suggest a pattern with a similar silhouette with cables or interesting pattern, I am all ears.

Thanks again.

1 Like

Going up in yarn weight will help make it larger.